I was just trying to log into my online account at TCF bank. Then I noticed that the Login link no longer leads to a secure site at tcfexpress.com but a rather obscure site at https://secure.mvnt4.com. It looked like TCF’s site, but the paypal and eBay fraud sites look like paypal and eBay… So I checked whois and found that MVNT4.COM is registered to Metavante Corporation, not TCF. A big warning sign! The security certificate for the site is issued to CN = secure.mvnt4.com OU = Corporate Account O = Metavante Corporation L = Milwaukee S = Wisconsin C = US, not TCF. An even bigger warning sign!!!
Now, do I really think that this is a fraudulant website? No, but my evidence is weak: The hostmaster for tcfexpress.com is the same company Metavante. But how can anyone really expect an average online banking customer to act responsibly if online banks count on their customers ignoring every warning sign; if they didn’t TCF would have essentially shut down their online banking!
An online bank that seems to ignore every aspect of online security…brave new world.